“If you’re really a mean person you’re going to come back as a fly and eat poop” – Kurt Cobain

I have been in a dark place this week mainly due to uncertainties and reflection on my past where I chose the wrong direction. I hid myself away to not affect others around me or make a permanent bad decision because of a temporary bad situation. That’s mainly how I escaped, by remembering it was all temporary and that if changes were to be made and improvements where to be gained it would manifest inside myself and be released into the world when ready. Courage and strength was needed to create that positivity once again but I have managed to take the first steps and writing this today is my next.

I read a book whilst I was hiding, it was called “the book of answers” by Robert Serafino. It helped me to think outside of the box and about my mortal coil. The book speaks of higher understanding of humans and their purpose along with the world and how the actions of the few can benefit the many. It is a very interesting read but definitely only those with an open mind as some of the text speaks of angels and reincarnation, which unfortunately a lot of people today would not comprehend with a close minded approach.

Now I am not saying I am a true believer in all that is spiritual, however I find yoga to be incredibly relaxing and help me with many ailments, I find meditation and reflection helps me to get a better perspective and give me time to understand my future and goals and I believe strongly in Karma.

Even if Karma is not the magical entity you see in movies where you are rewarded for your good deeds through lottery winnings. I enjoy Karma because it allows me to give a name to how I feel towards the world. The word itself is described as “the sum of a person’s actions in this and previous states of existence, viewed as deciding their fate in future existences.” However the way that I choose to interpret the word is being a ‘good’ human. Giving and helping others in time of need, being selfless when making decisions, creating a positive energy from within yourself that will aid and guide others through hardship. Being kind and loving to all animals, treating everyone equally and not feeling hate towards them even when they have hurt you.

I love this outlook on life. It means that I can feel content with every situation good or bad and love everyone for the beauty they have inside no matter how small.

If I could give advice to anyone about positivity I would recommend researching these practices, I am not telling you to follow Buddhism or to turn vegetarian or anything of that extreme (and I am also not suggesting that by not trying this you will become a fly as the title suggests, I just enjoyed the quote) , but just maybe once a day do one good selfless deed, give a homeless person some money, call a family member just to check in and say you love them, help someone at work in your own time with something they are struggling with. Anything, just one kind, honest deed, and I am positive that you will feel so fulfilled and happy enough to smile in that moment with being proud and emotionally rewarded with your action and will want to do it all again tomorrow.

Leave a comment